Soup, soup, a tasty soup, soup.

Another post?  Only ONE DAY after the last one?  Ah, madmoiselle, wis zis posting you are really spoiling uz.  Well, I’m feeling generous.  It’s a work from home day and I’m too scared to go outside in case I get lost in the fog.  Or, more to the point, in case I walk and walk and the fog doesn’t ever go away and when I come home, there are ghosts in my house who refuse to leave, and then it turns out that they’re not the ghosts afterall, I AM, AND MY HUSBAND IS NEVER COMING BACK!! Great, now I’ve just actually scared myself, I don’t even have a husband.  Thanks Nicole Kidman.  (That’s a reference to the film The Others, for those I’ve just confused)

Anyway.  Where was I?  Oh yes, soup.  Working from home means I get to knock up a tasty lunch, and this is great.  Warming and autumnal like soupy soup should be, but with an extra little kick of zestyness that makes it darned refreshing.

I took a carrot, the left over swede from yesterday, a medium potato, peeled and chopped them and boiled them in some stock water.

While that was happening I deseeded and dejuiced the tomatoes.  The easiest way to do this was to chop them in half and gouge out the seeds with my fingeers, then squeeze out the water.  Not only is this easy and quick, it’s also hella fun because you can pretend you’re an evil mastermind, gouging eyes out, and as it’s nearly Hallowe’en, it’s not at all creepy and actually rather festive.

Then I chopped up the desecrated eyeballs, I only had 2 victims (tomatoes, and I used 4 tomatoes – I told you, it’s not creepy, it’s festive – alright?) I also used up the left over spring onion from yesterday, just chopped it up and chucked it in (you listening Delia? THAT’S how you just chuck it all in a pot – literally, no faffing or actually preparing, chucking)

Then I heated it all together to soften the tomatoes (I typed that in a comedy American accent, just so you know) and added dried basil and black pepper and finally a splash of orange juice.

Whizz, stir, whizz and it’s done.  Actually, we’ve got a new hand blender and it’s so powerful it nearly spun my arm off, so it was more whizz, swear, whizzzzzzzz, done.

As it’s only just occurred to me to write this post about 2 hours after making the soup, there’s no photo to have.  But I had it with a slice of yesterdays bread all smothered in butter.

SOUP!  Now…about this fog…The Others couldn’t possibly be true, could it?

About bakingbored

When I get bored, I cook stuff. I figured I might as well write about it, that's a whole other half hour of occupation, right?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment